Who We Are

The Murujuga Aboriginal Corporation (MAC) has members from five traditional custodial groups from the Pilbara region of Western Australia. These groups are the Ngarluma, Yaburara, Mardudhunera, Yindjibarndi, and Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo peoples. MAC is governed by a Board of Directors and guided by the Murujuga Circle of Elders. MAC’s overall operations are managed by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

Board of Directors

MAC is governed by a twelve-person Board of Directors. This Board of Directors is directly elected by the membership of MAC, which consists of Aboriginal people from the five traditional custodial groups (comprising the Ngarluma, Yaburara, Mardudhunera, Yindjibarndi, and Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo). MAC’s Board of Directors works closely with the CEO, who manages the day-to-day operations of MAC. The Board of Directors is elected by MAC members at the annual AGM which is usually held in Roebourne, WA, during the month of November.

MAC’s Board of Directors is tasked with the following:

  • Protect and guide the future direction of MAC.
  • Support the current and future wellbeing of MAC’s landholdings, which include Murujuga National Park.
  • Provide support and guidance in relation to the Member Services offered by MAC, taking into consideration the current and future wellbeing of MAC’s members.

MAC’s Board of Directors consists of:

  • From the Ngarluma-Yindjibarndi contracting group; two (2) Ngarluma persons and two (2)Yindjibarndi persons,
  • From the Yaburara Mardudhunera contracting group; two (2) Yaburara persons and two (2) Mardudhunera persons, and
  • Four the Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo contracting group; four (4) Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo persons.

The following MAC members make up the current MAC Board of Directors:

  • Belinda Churnside: Ngarluma
  • Brenda Baites: Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo
  • Janice Brettner: Yaburara
  • Jimmy Horace: Yindjibarndi
  • Joan Hicks: Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo
  • Joshua Wescombe: Mardudhunera
  • Mary Cosmos: Yaburara
  • Nellie Connors: Ngarluma
  • Peter Hicks: Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo
  • Trevena Hicks-Phillips: Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo
  • Vincent Adams: Yindjibarndi
  • Melissa Boona: Mardudhunera

Murujuga Circle of Elders

The Murujuga Circle of Elders (CoE) consists of mature aged, Traditional Custodians of the land. They are members of MAC and, as a group, represent all three contracting groups. The CoE strives to speak with ‘one voice’ to provide governance and advice on issues related to traditional Aboriginal cultural knowledge, such as cultural safety and working on ngurra (traditional country). The membership of MAC, as well as the wider Aboriginal community in the Pilbara, recognises the authority of the CoE for their cultural guidance on various issues involving the people and country of Murujuga. The CoE has provided invaluable advice and support to MAc’s Ranger team. The CoE has also provided consultations on the Murujuga Cultural Management Plan, the Murujuga General and Research Protocol Guidelines, the World Heritage nomination, and the Murujuga Rock Art Strategy and Rock Art Monitoring Program.

The current members of the Murujuga Circle of Elders are:

  • Tim Douglas: Ngarluma
  • Jimmy Horace: Yindjibarndi
  • Pansy Hicks: Ngarluma
  • Tootsie Daniel: Yindjibarndi
  • Lawrence Kerr: Ngarluma
  • Terry Dale: Wong-Goo-Tt-Oo
  • Peter Cooper: Mardudhunera
  • Mary Cosmos: Yaburara
  • Colin Cosmos: Yaburara

Chief Executive Officer

MAC’s Chief Executive Officer is Mr Kim Wood. Kim is an experienced CEO and Chair with private sector and government experience. He joined MAC in October 2023.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!